Located on twelve pastoral acres overlooking the Farmington Valley, Our Lady of Calvary Retreat Center is a warm and welcoming spiritual space for people of all faiths and ages. The Sisters of the Cross and Passion and lay people who staff the retreat center aim to be “people for people,” providing for others a place where tranquility and peace abound. Over 1,000 women journey to OLC each year to attend retreats and day/evening programs, and many groups and churches rent out our space for meetings, private retreats, and social events.
Our Passionist Heritage
Identification with Christ in the mystery of His Passion is at the heart of their charism. They desire to share His sufferings and to be molded into the pattern of HIS death, so that by the power of His resurrection they may share in His glorified life as Risen Lord. This experience of His passion in our own lives enables us to express the compassion of Christ toward others and to spread among them the knowledge of Christ crucified.
About the House
Our Lady of Calvary Retreat Center first opened its doors in 1958 as a center primarily devoted to parish-based women’s retreats. The original house was built in 1922, by the Bissell family, and contained 27 rooms on 12 acres of property.
With the help of loyal, hard working supporters, the Sisters added the Saint Paul of the Cross Chapel and renovated the house to accommodate the retreat ministry.
In 1964, a large conference room and east/west wing dormitory rooms were added. Further renovations extended the dining room and added two additional small meeting rooms and a newly renovated chapel.